Getting what we want versus what we need.

I stumbled upon this this morning and it really resonated.  It reminds me that there is a purpose, a connectivity that we don’t always like or understand at first.

In my youth, I respected the world and life.  I needed nothing but peace of heart.

And yet I changed despite myself and believed in the world’s lies.  The world seemed to know all the truth, and promised to make me happy.

I me asked for wealth, that I might have power;  I was given poverty, that I might find my inner strength.

I asked for fame so that others would know me.  I was given obscurity, that I might know myself.

I asked for a person to love so that I might never be alone.  I was given a life of a hermit, that I might learn to accept myself.

I asked for power, that I might achieve;  I was given weakness, that I might learn to obey.

I asked for health, that I might lead a long life;  I was given infirmity, that I might appreciate each minute.

I asked  Mother Earth for strength, that I might have my wayI was given weakness, that I might feel the need for Her.

I asked to live happily, that I might enjoy life;  I was given life, that I might live happily.

I received nothing I asked for, yet all my wishes came true.

Despite myself and the what the world said I should be, my dreams were fulfilled.  I am richly blessed more than I ever hoped.

Billy Mills, Oglala Lakota

Enjoy the day, the season, the gifts that we get despite what we ask for.

 

 

IMG_1616

 

One thought on “Getting what we want versus what we need.

  1. annie90days December 11, 2016 / 2:06 am

    Dear one…. You have enriched so many of us, by knowing you and loving you. I am grateful for YOU.
    Cheers
    your SiL

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

